Skip to content

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Adrienne Warren and Melba Moore will be special guests for ‘Purlie Victorious’ talkback series

The “Victorious Talkbacks” series resumes with a trio of Tony Award winners.

(L-R) Lin-Manuel Miranda, Adrienne Warren and Melba Moore (Credit: Theo Wargo/Getty Images; Rebecca J. Michelson; John Nacion/Getty Images)

The revival of “Purlie Victorious” will continue its series of weekly post-show discussions on Jan. 11. “Victorious Talkbacks,” which began in October 2023, are presented by Lawryn Lacroix and will feature appearances from cast members and Dr. Hasna Muhammad, the daughter of “Purlie Victorious” playwright Ossie Davis. Additionally, a special guest will join the panel each week.

Three Tony Award winners will launch the 2024 talkbacks. The Jan. 11 discussion will feature Adrienne Warren, Jan. 18 will include Melba Moore, and Jan. 25 will feature Lin-Manuel Miranda.

The discussions will be moderated by Sade Lythcott and Jonathan McCrory, the chief executive officer and executive artistic director, respectively, of the National Black Theatre (NBT), which serves as co-producer on “Purlie Victorious.”

For her performance as the titular role in the Tina Turner bio-musical “Tina,” Warren won the 2020 Tony for Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical.

Moore took home a Featured Actress Tony for her performance as Lutiebelle in “Purlie,” the 1970 musical adaptation of “Purlie Victorious.”

Miranda won dual Tonys for his book and score of 2015’s “Hamilton,” in addition to the Pulitzer Prize. He also won a 2008 Tony for his score to “In the Heights,” which was a 2009 finalist for the Pulitzer.

Lacroix has served as a co-producer on “POTUS” and “Mike Birbiglia: The Old Man & the Pool.”

A satirical look at race in America, “Purlie Victorious” opened on Sept. 27, 2023, at the Music Box Theatre. Originally slated to close on Jan. 7, the play was extended to Feb. 4.

“Purlie Victorious” is produced by Jeffrey Richards, Hunter Arnold, Leslie Odom Jr., Irene Gandy, Kayla Greenspan and Willette and Manny Klausner.