Skip to content

Sutton Foster and Aaron Tveit will host 2024 Drama Desk Awards

The June ceremony’s creative team has also been announced.

(L-R) Sutton Foster and Aaron Tveit (Credit: Steve Granitz/FilmMagic; Amanda Edwards/Getty Images)

Sutton Foster and Aaron Tveit have been tapped to host the 68th annual Drama Desk Awards. The previously announced ceremony, honoring productions that played on, Off- and Off-Off-Broadway, will take place on June 10 at NYU’s Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. The 2024 nominations were announced on April 29. Foster and Tveit recently completed a three-month-long tenure replacing in the 2023 revival of “Sweeney Todd.”

Foster is a two-time Drama Desk winner, having been honored for her leading turns in 2002’s “Thoroughly Modern Millie” and in the 2011 revival of “Anything Goes.” A two-time Tony Award winner for both of the aforementioned productions, Foster is slated to return to Broadway in summer 2024, leading the Main Stem transfer of the New York City Center Encores! production of “Once Upon a Mattress.”

Tveit originated the role of Christian in 2019’s “Moulin Rouge!,” a role which earned him a 2020 Tony for Leading Actor in a Musical. His previous Broadway credits include originating the roles of Gabe in 2009’s “Next to Normal” and Frank Abagnale Jr. in 2011’s “Catch Me if You Can.”

“We’re delighted Sutton Foster and Aaron Tveit are hosting this year’s Awards to toast this theater season of abundance,” said Drama Desk co-presidents David Barbour and Charles Wright in a statement. “Our audience is in for a real treat!”

Also newly announced is the ceremony’s creative team. Lorin Latarro, a Drama Desk nominee this year for choreographing “The Heart of Rock and Roll,” is set to direct the ceremony, while four-time Drama Desk nominee Steve Rosen and David Rossmer will write the script for the evening. Annbritt duChateau will provide musical direction. The ceremony will feature lighting design by Jeremy Cunningham, sound design by Daniel Gerhard and video design by Ido Levran. Joshua Helman will provide technical supervision, while Julia Jones will serve as production stage manager.

As previously announced, Nathan Lane will be honored with the Harold S. Prince Award and André Bishop will receive the William Wolf Award.

The Drama Desk Awards are voted on and bestowed by theater critics, journalists, editors and publishers covering theater. The ceremony is being executive produced by Staci Levine and Jessica R. Jenen.