Skip to content

Schedule set for 2024 Drama Desk Awards

The 68th annual ceremony will feature its second year of genderless performance categories.

Joshua Harmon with his 2018 Drama Desk Award for his play “Admissions”; Harmon won a second Drama Desk in 2022 for Off-Broadway’s “Prayer for the French Republic,” which is now on Broadway (Credit: Roy Rochlin/Getty Images)

The Drama Desk Awards, the awards body honoring Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions, has set the schedule for its 2024 awards. The 68th annual ceremony will take place on June 10. Nominations will be announced on April 29.

To be eligible for awards, productions must open by April 25.

As was the case last year, gender-specific categories will be replaced with the following categories: Outstanding Leading Performance in a Play, Outstanding Leading Performance in a Musical, Outstanding Featured Performance in a Play and Outstanding Featured Performance in a Musical. Each category will allow for twice as many nominees at the former gendered categories, and each category will have two winners. A tie will result in more than two winners in a category.

The location of the June 10 ceremony, produced by Staci Levine, will be announced at a later date.

The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 by New York theater writers, critics and publishers to increase awareness of the New York theater scene. The organization hosted its first awards ceremony in 1955 as the Vernon Rice Awards, named in honor of former New York Post theater critic. The moniker was later changed to the Drama Desk Awards. 

The 2023-2024 Drama Desk nominating committee includes Martha Wade Steketee, Linda Armstrong, Daniel Dinero, Peter Filichia, Kenji Fujishima, Margaret Hall and Charles Wright.

The Drama Desk is led by co-presidents Wright and David Barbour.