Skip to content

‘Some Like It Hot,’ ‘Leopoldstadt’ among Outer Critics Circle Award winners

In total, 11 Broadway productions from the 2022-2023 season took home at least one award.

(L-R): Christian Borle and J. Harrison Ghee in “Some Like It Hot” on Broadway (Credit: Marc J. Franklin)

The winners of the 2023 Outer Critics Circle Awards were announced on May 16. Broadway’s “Some Like It Hot” took home the most awards of all productions with five wins. In addition to Outstanding New Broadway Musical, the production won Outstanding New Score by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, Outstanding Costume Design by Gregg Barnes, Outstanding Orchestrations by Bryan Carter and Charlie Rose and Outstanding Lead Performer for J. Harrison Ghee. This year marked the first time the acting categories were genderless.

“Leopoldstadt” took home three awards, including Outstanding New Broadway Play. Brandon Uranowitz won Outstanding Featured Performer in a Broadway Play and Patrick Marber was recognized as Outstanding Director of a Play.

“New York, New York” — which had led the nominations with 12 nods — won two awards.

Note: Only new elements were considered for “Cost of Living,” “Kimberly Akimbo,” “Ain’t No Mo’,” “Between Riverside and Crazy” and “Kinky Boots,” all of which were eligible for Outer Critics Circle Awards in prior years.

See a full list of nominees and winners below. Winners are named first in each category and appear in bold.

The Marjorie Gunner Award for Outstanding New Broadway Musical
“Some Like It Hot”
“& Juliet"
“A Beautiful Noise, The Neil Diamond Musical”
“New York, New York”

Outstanding New Broadway Play
“Good Night, Oscar”
“Life of Pi”
“Peter Pan Goes Wrong”
“Summer, 1976”

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
“The Harder They Come”
“The Bedwetter”
“Between the Lines”
“Only Gold”
“Without You”

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
“Becomes a Woman”
“A Case for the Existence of God”
“Chester Bailey”
“Letters from Max, a ritual”

John Gassner Award for New American Play (Preferably by a New Playwright)
“Fat Ham” by James Ijames
“Dark Disabled Stories” by Ryan J. Haddad
“Epiphany” by Brian Watkins
“Wolf Play” by Hansol Jung
“You Will Get Sick” by Noah Diaz

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
“Death of a Salesman”
“Ohio State Murders”
“Wedding Band”

Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
“A Man of No Importance”
“Into the Woods”
“Merrily We Roll Along”
“Sweeney Todd”

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Broadway Musical
J. Harrison Ghee, “Some Like It Hot”
Micaela Diamond, “Parade”
Caroline Innerbichler, “Shucked”
Colton Ryan, “New York, New York”
Anna Uzele, “New York, New York”

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Broadway Musical
Alex Newell, “Shucked”
Kevin Del Aguila, “Some Like It Hot”
Julia Lester, “Into the Woods”
NaTasha Yvette Williams, “Some Like It Hot”
Betsy Wolfe, “& Juliet”

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Broadway Play
Sean Hayes, “Good Night, Oscar”
Hiran Abeysekera, “Life of Pi”
Jessica Chastain, “A Doll’s House”
Corey Hawkins, “Topdog/Underdog”
Audra McDonald, “Ohio State Murders”

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Broadway Play
Brandon Uranowitz, “Leopoldstadt”
Danielle Brooks, “The Piano Lesson”
Sharon D. Clarke, “Death of a Salesman”
Michael Potts, “The Piano Lesson”
David Zayas, “Cost of Living”

Outstanding Lead Performer in an Off-Broadway Play
Bill Irwin, “Endgame”
Ephraim Birney, “Chester Bailey”
Brittany Bradford, “Wedding Band”
Marylouise Burke, “Epiphany”
Emma Pfitzer Price, “Becomes a Woman”

Outstanding Featured Performer in an Off-Broadway Play
K. Todd Freeman, “Downstate”
Veanne Cox, “Wedding Band”
Glenn Davis, “Downstate”
Francis Guinan, “Downstate”
Susanna Guzman, “Downstate”

Outstanding Lead Performer in an Off-Broadway Musical
Jonathan Groff, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Nicholas Barasch, “The Butcher Boy”
Callum Francis, “Kinky Boots”
Natey Jones, “The Harder They Come”
Marla Mindelle, “Titanique”

Outstanding Featured Performer in an Off-Broadway Musical
Lindsay Mendez, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Vicki Lewis, “Between the Lines”
Daniel Radcliffe, “Merrily We Roll Along”
A.J. Shively, “A Man of No Importance”
Mare Winningham, “A Man of No Importance”

Outstanding Solo Performance
Jodie Comer, “Prima Facie”
Mike Birbiglia, “The Old Man & the Pool”
Jefferson Mays, “A Christmas Carol”
Sam Morrison, “Sugar Daddy”
Anthony Rapp, “Without You”

Outstanding New Score
Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, “Some Like It Hot”
Kate Anderson and Elyssa Samsel, “Between the Lines”
Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally, “Shucked”
John Kander, Fred Ebb and Lin-Manuel Miranda, “New York, New York”
Adam Schlesinger and Sarah Silverman, “The Bedwetter”

Outstanding Book of a Musical
Robert Horn, “Shucked”
Tye Blue, Marla Mindelle and Constantine Rousouli, “Titanique”
Matthew López and Amber Ruffin, “Some Like It Hot”
Suzan-Lori Parks, “The Harder They Come”
David West Read, “& Juliet”

Outstanding Scenic Design (Play or Musical)
Beowulf Boritt, “New York, New York”
Jason Ardizzone-West, “Wedding Band”
John Lee Beatty, “Epiphany”
Mimi Lien, “Sweeney Todd”
Simon Scullion, “Peter Pan Goes Wrong”

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)
Gregg Barnes, “Some Like It Hot”
Dede Ayite, “Topdog/Underdog”
Brigitte Reiffenstuel, “Leopoldstadt”
Paloma Young, “& Juliet”
Donna Zakowska, “New York, New York”

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)
Tim Lutkin, “Life of Pi”
Neil Austin, “Leopoldstadt”
Ken Billington, “New York, New York”
Ken Elliott and Ben Stanton, “A Christmas Carol”
Natasha Katz, “Sweeney Todd”

Outstanding Sound Design (Play or Musical)
Joshua D. Reid, “A Christmas Carol”
John Gromada, “Jasper”
Kai Harada, “New York, New York”
Daniel Kluger, “Epiphany”
André Pluess, “Good Night, Oscar”

Outstanding Video or Projection Design (Play or Musical)
Andrzej Goulding, “Life of Pi”
Christopher Ash and Beowulf Boritt, “New York, New York”
Lucy Mackinnon, “A Christmas Carol”
Isaac Madge, “Leopoldstadt”
Sven Ortel, “Parade”

Outstanding Orchestrations
Bryan Carter and Charlie Rosen, “Some Like It Hot”
Sam Davis and Daryl Waters, “New York, New York”
Jason Howland, “Shucked”
Dominic Fallacaro and Bill Sherman, “& Juliet”
Jonathan Tunick, “Merrily We Roll Along”

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Michael Arden, “Parade”
Maria Friedman, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Casey Nicholaw, “Some Like It Hot”
Jack O’Brien, “Shucked”
Susan Stroman, “New York, New York”

Outstanding Choreography
Susan Stroman, “New York, New York”
Andy Blankenbuehler, “Only Gold”
Edgar Godineaux, “The Harder They Come”
Casey Nicholaw, “Some Like It Hot”
Jennifer Weber, “& Juliet”

Outstanding Director of a Play
Patrick Marber, “Leopoldstadt”
Kenny Leon, “Topdog/Underdog”
Pam MacKinnon, “Downstate”
Adam Meggido, “Peter Pan Goes Wrong”
Max Webster, “Life of Pi”

Special Achievement Award
B.H. Barry

Broadway Winners By Show
5 — “Some Like It Hot”
3 — “Leopoldstadt”
2 — “Life of Pi”
2 — “New York, New York”
2 — “Parade”
2 — ”Shucked”
1 — “A Christmas Carol”
1 — “Fat Ham”
1 — “Good Night, Oscar”
1 — “Prima Facie"
1 — “Topdog/Underdog”

The Outer Critics Circle is run under the leadership of president David Gordon. The board of directors includes Richard Ridge, Joseph Cervelli, Patrick Hoffman, David Roberts, Harry Haun, Cynthia Allen, Janice Simpson and Doug Strassler.