Skip to content

Sarah Paulson, ‘Stereophonic’ among 2024 Drama League Awards winners

Broadway productions swept all of the competitive categories.

Sarah Paulson in “Appropriate” on Broadway, 2023 (Credit: Joan Marcus)

The winners of the 2024 Drama League Awards have been announced. The ceremony honoring achievement across Broadway and Off-Broadway productions took place on May 17 at the Ziegfeld Ballroom. 

Broadway productions were awarded in all seven competitive categories.

Sarah Paulson won the Distinguished Performance Award for her turn as Toni in Branden Jacobs-Jenkins’ “Appropriate.” The only category honoring performance, the award can only be won a single time in an actor’s career.

“Appropriate” was also honored with the Outstanding Revival of a Play award.

David Adjmi’s new play “Stereophonic” and the revival of Stephen Sondheim and George Furth’s “Merrily We Roll Along” won two awards each. “Stereophonic” won for Outstanding Production of a Play, as well as Outstanding Direction of a Play for helmer Daniel Aukin. Maria Friedman took home the award for Outstanding Direction of a Musical for her work on “Merrily.” The production was also honored with Outstanding Revival of a Musical.

“Hell’s Kitchen,” the new musical inspired by the life of Alicia Keys (and set to her music), was named Outstanding Production of a Musical.

The previously announced special award recipients were also honored: producer Kandi Burruss, actor Jonathan Groff, actor Jessica Lange and director Schele Williams.

The Drama League is under the artistic direction of Gabriel Stelian-Shanks and executive director Bevin Ross.

The 2024 awards committee is co-chaired by Bonnie Comley and Darin Oduyoye. The steering committee includes Trish Chambers, Jonathan Demar, Irene Gandy, Sarah Hutton, Kirk Iwanowski, Mary Jain, Paula Kaminsky Davis, Fred Siegel and Kumiko Yoshii.

A full list of winners and nominees can be found below. Winners are notated in bold.

Outstanding Production of a Play

“The Comeuppance”
“Grief Hotel”
“The Hunt”
“Jaja’s African Hair Braiding”
“Mother Play”
“Oh, Mary!”
“Prayer for the French Republic”
“Wet Brain”

Outstanding Revival of a Play

“An Enemy of the People”
“Danny and the Deep Blue Sea”
“The Effect”
“Mary Jane”
“Our Class”
“Purlie Victorious”
“Uncle Vanya”
“The White Chip”

Outstanding Production of a Musical
“Hell’s Kitchen”

“Buena Vista Social Club”
“Dead Outlaw”
“The Heart of Rock and Roll”
“The Notebook”
“The Outsiders”
“Water for Elephants”

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
“Merrily We Roll Along”

“Gutenberg! The Musical”
“Here Lies Love”
“I Can Get it for You Wholesale”
“The Who’s Tommy”
“The Wiz”

Outstanding Direction of a Play
Daniel Aukin, “Stereophonic”

Tara Ahmadinejad, “Grief Hotel”
Sam Gold, “An Enemy of The People”
Rupert Goold, “The Hunt”
Rupert Goold, “Patriots”
Jamie Lloyd, “The Effect”
Lila Neugebauer, “Appropriate”
Lila Neugebauer, “Uncle Vanya”
Sam Pinkleton, “Oh, Mary!”
Eric Ting, “The Comeuppance”
Whitney White, “Jaja’s African Hair Braiding”

Outstanding Direction of a Musical
Maria Friedman, “Merrily We Roll Along”

Saheem Ali, “Buena Vista Social Club”
Sarah Benson, “Teeth”
David Cromer, “Dead Outlaw”
Rebecca Frecknall, “Cabaret”
Des McAnuff, “The Who’s Tommy”
Leigh Silverman, “Suffs”
Alex Timbers, “Gutenberg! The Musical!”
Alex Timbers, “Here Lies Love”

Distinguished Performance 
Sarah Paulson, “Appropriate”

Betsy Aidem, “Prayer for the French Republic”
Shoshana Bean, “Hell's Kitchen”
Gabby Beans, “Jonah”
Joshua Boone, “The Outsiders”
Ali Louis Bourzgui, “The Who’s Tommy”
Steve Carell, “Uncle Vanya”
Jenn Colella, “Suffs”
Danny DeVito, “I Need That”
Caleb Eberhardt, “The Comeuppance” and An Enemy of the People”
Alex Edelman, “Just for Us”
Cole Escola, “Oh, Mary!”
Eden Espinosa, “The Gardens of Anuncia” and “Lempicka”
Paapa Essiedu, “The Effect”
Melissa Etheridge, “Melissa Etheridge: My Window”
Laurence Fishburne, “Like They Do in the Movies”
Josh Gad, “Gutenberg! The Musical!”
Eli Gelb, “Stereophonic”
Brody Grant, “The Outsiders”
Jonathan Groff, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Dorian Harewood, “The Notebook”
Willam Jackson Harper, “Primary Trust” and Uncle Vanya”
Amber Iman, “Lempicka”
Eddie Izzard, “Hamlet”
Nikki M. James, “Suffs”
Leslie Rodriguez Kritzer, “Spamalot”
Jessica Lange, “Mother Play”
Kecia Lewis, “Hell’s Kitchen”
Nichelle Lewis, “The Wiz”
Maribel Martinez, “Bees and Honey”
Rachel McAdams, “Mary Jane”
Lindsay Mendez, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Tobias Menzies, “The Hunt”
Cynthia Nixon, “The Seven Year Disappear”
Eva Noblezada, “The Great Gatsby”
Kelli O’Hara, “Days of Wine and Roses”
Leslie Odom, Jr., “Purlie Victorious”
Patrick Page, “All the Devils Are Here: How Shakespeare Invented The Villain”
Nicole Ari Parker, “The Refuge Plays”
Jim Parsons, “Mother Play”
Sarah Pidgeon, “Stereophonic”
Aubrey Plaza, “Danny and The Deep Blue Sea”
Maryann Plunkett, “The Notebook”
Daniel Radcliffe, “Merrily We Roll Along”
Gayle Rankin, “Cabaret”
Andrew Rannells, “Gutenberg! The Musical!”
Eddie Redmayne, “Cabaret”
Conrad Ricamora, “Here Lies Love” and “Oh, Mary!”
Corey Stoll, “”Appropriate”
Michael Stuhlbarg, “Patriots”
Jeremy Strong, “An Enemy of the People”
Zenzi Williams, “Jaja's African Hair Braiding” 
Kara Young, “Purlie Victorious”
Jehan O. Young, “The Cotillion”

Special Recognitions:

Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater 
Jonathan Groff

Founders Award for Excellence in Directing 
Schele Williams

Contribution to the Theater 
Jessica Lange

Gratitude Award
Kandi Burruss