Skip to content

‘Mean Girls’ movie musical is released digitally

The film is based on the 2018 Tony Award-nominated Best Musical.

Tina Fey at the New York premiere of “Mean Girls,” 2024 (Credit: John Lamparski/WireImages, Getty Images)

The “Mean Girls” movie musical is now available digitally, as of Feb. 20. The film, adapted from the 2018 Broadway musical of the same name, will be available to stream in 4k ultra HD, as well as on Blu-Ray and DVD, beginning April 30; that release date will mark the 20th anniversary of the original “Mean Girls” film. The 2004 movie, which served as the source material for the Broadway mounting, will also be released digitally on April 30.

The movie musical’s digital release features special content, including a Tina Fey-led discussion of the “Mean Girls” story and how the story would play out in the age of social media, a look at translating the dances and stage direction to film and a cast discussion of their respective characters and memories of the original film. There is also a behind-the-scenes blooper reel, sing-along selections and the music video “Not My Fault” featuring Reneé Rapp, who plays Regina George in the movie, and rapper Megan Thee Stallion.

New behind-the-scenes content includes Fey discussing how the original movie became so entrenched in popular culture, as well as commentary by director Mark Waters and producer Lorne Michaels.

Released in theaters on Jan. 12, the new “Mean Girls” motion picture features a screenplay by Fey, adapted from her Tony Award-nominated book for the Broadway production. Composer Jeff Richmond and lyricist Nell Benjamin’s Tony-nominated score is also featured. “Mean Girls” is a comedic look at high school cliques, as seen through the social hierarchy Cady Heron experiences upon starting at a new school where Regina George reigns as the leader of her clique the Plastics.

In addition to Rapp, the cast of the “Mean Girls” film includes Angourie Rice as Cady Heron, Bebe Wood as Gretchen Wieners, Avantika as Karen Smith, Christopher Briney as Aaron Samuels, Auli’i Cravalho as Janis Sarkisian and Tony nominee Jaquel Spivey as Damian Hubbard.