Skip to content

Judges and coaches announced for 2023 Jimmy Awards

Corbin Bleu will return as host of the 14th annual ceremony, honoring high school musical theater performers from around the country.

2022 Jimmy Awards participants (Credit: DLC Photography)

Judges and coaches have been announced for the 2023 Jimmy Awards, set to celebrate 96 high school musical theater performers from 48 states. As previously announced, the 14th annual event will be held at the Minskoff Theatre on June 26 at 7:30 p.m.

Corbin Bleu will return to host the ceremony. Bleu previously emceed the Jimmys in 2021.

Throughout the week leading up to the ceremony, students will have the opportunity to work with coaches to prepare. This year’s coaches include Jenni Barber, Max Chernin, Maryann Hu, Adam Kantor, Telly Leung, Howard McGillin and Desi Oakley.

A panel of preliminary judges evaluates and casts the nominees in the musical numbers to be performed at the ceremony. The 2023 slate of industry professionals tasked with this responsibility are Kristian Charbonier, Stephanie Klapper, Kevin Metzger-Timson, Dale Mott and Seth Sklar-Heyn.

Then, at the June 26 ceremony, winners, finalists and semifinalists will be selected by Khady Kamara, Joe Machota, Alecia Parker, T. Oliver Reid, Tara Rubin, Nick Scandalios, Thomas Schumacher, Bernie Telsey and Sergio Trujillo. This panel will determine which two performers will take home the top awards: Best Performance by an Actor and Best Performance by an Actress.

Guest presenters, including two-time Tony nominee Eva Noblezada and current “Wicked” star McKenzie Kurtz, will also be on hand during the ceremony to introduce students’ musical numbers, tributes and awards. In addition to the student presentations, two educators will be recognized with the 2023 Inspiring Teacher Award.

The Jimmy Awards, named for the late theatrical producer James M. Nederlander, are presented by The Broadway League Foundation.

Update: Only one educator, Vanessa Lock Gelinas, will be recognized with the Inspiring Teacher Award. Joe Sniegocki had to withdraw for personal reasons.