Skip to content

Jimmy Awards announce recipients of 2023 Inspiring Teacher Award

The educators will be honored at the 14th annual ceremony on June 26.

Vanessa Lock Gelinas and Joe Sniegocki (Courtesy of the Broadway League)

The Jimmy Awards, celebrating high school musical theater performers from around the country, have announced the two teachers who will receive the 2023 Inspiring Teacher Award. As previously announced, the 14th annual ceremony will take place at Broadway’s Minskoff Theatre on June 26 at 7:30 p.m.

The pair of recipients are Vanessa Lock Gelinas of Virginia’s Oakton High School and Joe Sniegocki of Florida’s Harrison School for the Arts. Gelinas and Sniegocki were nominated by their students and have been chosen to receive the award by a committee of Broadway League members.

Gelinas began teaching at Oakton High School in 2002 and was named theatre arts director in 2006. Sniegocki became dean of musical theatre at Harrison School for the Arts in 2002 and has directed more than 30 productions at the school since.

“For each Jimmy Award nominee who performs onstage, there is a tremendous support system that takes place offstage fostering a strong sense of community,” said Broadway League president Charlotte St. Martin in a statement. “There is no greater example than the hard work and dedication that teachers provide in helping students achieve success and develop lifelong connection to the arts. We congratulate Vanessa Lock Gelinas and Joe Sniegocki for their outstanding efforts and the well-deserved honor of being this year’s recipients of the Inspiring Teacher Award presented by Wells Fargo.”

The Jimmy Awards, named for the late theatrical producer James M. Nederlander, are presented by The Broadway League Foundation.