Skip to content

Jimmy Awards announces nominees for 2024 ceremony

The recipients of the 2024 Inspiring Teacher Award were also named.

A moment from the 2023 Jimmy Awards (Credit: Tricia Baron)

The Jimmy Awards, known formally as the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, has revealed its slate of nominees for the 15th annual ceremony. The previously announced event, honoring achievement in high school-level theater, will take place on June 24 at Broadway’s Minskoff Theatre. Josh Groban will host.

The nominees for Best Actor are Breton Sego, Noah Rass, Hayden Poe, Jamias Hughes, Will Leavitt, Gus Cook, Connor Hesch, Rylan Lowe, Jazhel Arostegui, George Spiegel, Kyle McFalls, Christian Strong, Damson Chola Jr., Connor Egloff, Caleb Kezeor, Jackson A. Baker, Conor Kruger, Braeden Davis, Elrian Masti, Peter Dessert, Max Mishler, Robbie Troyan, Luke Martin, Logan O’Donnell, Mauricio Lara, Nolan Travis, Aden Pettet, Anderson Franco, Jack Anderson, Jayden Murphy, James Thibault, Isaiah Baston, Presley Harrington, Derek Penner, George Eastman, Ben Van Dijk, Cameron Krauss, Kai Sachon, Sebastian Rosa, Ian Royse, Kruz Maldonado, Spencer Kearns, Mitchell Henderson, Daniel Cormie, Will Kinsella, Dylan Saavedra, Max Antonio Perez, Lance Jacobson, Dawson Fullingim, Jonah Uffelman and Lucas Brown.

Nominated for Best Actress are Nori Kai Little, Jennifer Duarte Castillo, Ivy O’Neal, Ava Moak, Elliana Mckean, Greta Cardoza, Tori Gill, Lainey Gaston, Gracia Wright, Jazmin Rhodes, Lindsey Ross, Allie Gomez, Fabiola Caraballo Quijada, Sydney Korpusik, Gabi Karl, Mackenzie Crawford, Alex Fluker, Gretchen Shope, Alyssa Dorsey, Mia Cabrera-Davila, Norah Younger, Catherine Dosier, Marie Munoz, Savannah Carrasco, Marley Sol, Ava Grenberg, Hailey Brown, Bella McKivigan, Lillian Hochman, Alyssa Freeze, Kate Morton, Ashlee Fucarino, Leah Hughes, Samara Follette, Emma Cate Davis, Rachel Rogstad, Caroline Vollmer, Emma Hopf, Abby Tuchon, Katiclaire Dobbins, Victoria Martinez, Mia Rivera, Venice Ella Mayor, Abby DeGregory, Theo Rickert, Alana Hogan, Nora Palermo, Samia Posadas, Sophie Rose, Meera Ayyar and Sage Sorenson.

Each nominee was one of two winners at 51 regional awards programs hosted by a performing arts center. Each program sponsors the travel of its two honorees to New York City, where they will complete a 10-day theater-training intensive in New York City. The week’s events culminate in the Jimmy Awards ceremony.

Also announced are the recipients of the Inspiring Teacher Award. Nominated by their students, these educators are honored for their efforts in guiding and encouraging students on their journey to the Jimmys. The 2024 recipients are Jacqueline McLean of Le Roy Jr. Sr. High School in Rochester, New York, and Paul Fillingim from Ronald Reagan High School in San Antonio, Texas. The award is presented in honor of the late Tony Award-winning producer Luigi Caiola, who passed away in November 2023 at the age of 64.

With support from Broadway News, the Jimmy Awards Student Reporter Initiative will feature live social media coverage from two aspiring journalists from regional awards programs. Selected from a nationwide submission process, Nicole Scimeca from Broadway in Chicago Illinois High School Musical Theatre Awards and Richard “Ricky” Ragazzo from the Tommy Tune Awards in Houston, Texas will be this year’s reporters. Scimeca and Ragazzo will cover the preparation process of the 102 nominees prior to the ceremony, as well as exclusive post-event interviews. Separately, they will get a behind-the-scenes look at the production of an upcoming news segment at WABC Studios.

The creative team of the Jimmy Awards includes director Van Kaplan, choreographer Kiesha Lalama, feature group director/choreographer Luis Salgado and music supervisor Geoffrey Ko.

The 2024 Jimmy Awards will stream online for free via the Jimmy Awards’ Facebook and YouTube channel on June 24 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

The Jimmy Awards are presented by the Broadway League Foundation, the philanthropic division of the Broadway League, the trade association for the Broadway industry.