Skip to content

United Palace announces community event leading up to 2023 Tony Awards

The programming, which includes three panels, will take place on May 8.

The United Palace Theatre (Courtesy of The Tony Awards)

Manhattan’s United Palace Theatre, home of the 2023 Tony Awards, has announced programming leading up to the 76th annual ceremony. The in-person, free community event on May 8, dubbed “Broadway Bound,” will focus on non-performance career paths available within the theater industry. The United Palace will host three panel discussions beginning at 4:30 p.m.

First, attendees can hear from theater professionals creating more diversity and inclusivity on Broadway in a panel entitled, “How To Get Started On a Non-Performance Career on Broadway.” The conversation will focus on career-building resources and initiatives.

The second panel, “Building a World: Designing Broadway Shows,” will feature sound, lighting and costume designers as they reflect on their careers and how they continue to mount productions.

The third panel, called “The Road to Broadway,” will provide insights about the process of conceiving a show and bringing it to Broadway.

Tickets for the event are free to the public and registration is open.

“The United Palace’s opening in 1930 was billed as ‘Times Square entertainment nearer your home,’” said United Palace CEO Mike Fitelson in a statement. “The Tony Awards is delivering on that promise first by bringing its showstopping awards program to 175th Street, and second by creating additional programming to educate local residents about jobs on Broadway. If young people aren’t inspired to pursue these career paths, they will never know how big to dream. The Tonys understands that talent is widely distributed and doesn’t end at 42nd Street.”

As previously announced, the 76th Annual Tony Awards will take place on June 11 at the United Palace Theatre in Manhattan’s Washington Heights neighborhood. The event will begin with exclusive content streaming live on Pluto TV from 6:30 p.m. to ET. The ceremony will be broadcast beginning at 8 p.m. ET on CBS in addition to a livestream available on Paramount+.