Skip to content

Broadway’s ‘Back to the Future’ musical will welcome two new principal cast members

The musical continues its run at the Winter Garden Theatre.

(L-R) Evan Alexander Smith and David Josefsberg (Credit: Courtesy of Polk & Co.)

Two new cast members are being added to “Back to the Future” on Broadway. Beginning on June 25, Evan Alexander Smith will take over the role of George McFly while David Josefsberg will replace in the role of Principal Strickland. The two actors will succeed original cast members Hugh Coles and Merritt David Janes, respectively, who will exit the production at the Winter Garden Theatre on June 23.

Smith, currently appearing as Greg in “Merrily We Roll Along,” has also been seen on Broadway in “Amazing Grace” and Off-Broadway in “Little Shop of Horrors.” His résumé also includes national tours of “The Play That Goes Wrong” and “Dirty Dancing,” as well as a Canadian staging of “The Toxic Avenger.”

Josefsberg is a Broadway veteran who has appeared in “Spamalot,” “Beetlejuice,” “The Prom,” “Waitress,” “An Act of God,” “Honeymoon in Vegas,” “Motown,” “The Wedding Singer,” “Les Misérables” and “Grease.” Perhaps most notably, he originated the role of Abraham in the Off-Broadway musical “Altar Boyz.”

Smith and Josefsberg will join a current principal cast led by Casey Likes as Marty McFly and 2024 Tony Award nominee Roger Bart as Doc Brown, with Liana Hunt as Lorraine Baines, Jelani Remy as Goldie Wilson/Marvin Berry and Nathaniel Hackmann as Biff Tannen.

John Rando directs the musical based on the 1985 film, which features a book by Bob Gale and a new score by Alan Silvestri and Glen Ballard, with additional songs from the film including “The Power of Love” and “Johnny B. Goode.” “Back to the Future” began previews on June 30, 2023, and opened on Aug. 3.

“Back to the Future” is produced by Colin Ingram, Donovan Mannato, Tom Viertel, Steven Baruch, Marc Routh, Richard Frankel, Hunter Arnold, Robert L. Hutt, Ivy Herman, Hallee Adelman, Teresa Tsai, Bob McLynn, Gavin Kalin, Kimberly Magarro, Crush Music, Playing Field, Universal Theatrical Group, Sony Masterworks, Augury, Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale, in association with Neil Gooding Productions, Ricardo Marques and James L. Nederlander.