Skip to content

Annaleigh Ashford, ‘Into the Woods’ among winners at 2023 Drama League Awards

Broadway productions won all categories at the ceremony recognizing Main Stem and Off-Broadway theater.

Annaleigh Ashford in “Sweeney Todd“ (Credit: Matthew Murphy and Evan Zimmerman)

Winners of the 2023 Drama League Awards, celebrating achievement on Broadway and Off, have been announced. The 89th annual awards ceremony was held on May 19 at the Ziegfeld Ballroom.

Broadway productions from the 2022-2023 season swept in all seven categories.

Annaleigh Ashford took home the Distinguished Performance Award for her turn as Mrs. Lovett in “Sweeney Todd.” The prize can only be won a single time in a performer’s career.

“Into the Woods” received two awards: one for director Lear deBessonet and another for Outstanding Revival of a Musical. “Some Like It Hot” took home the award for Outstanding Production of a Musical, while “Leopoldstadt” won for Outstanding Production of a Play. “A Doll’s House” received the Outstanding Revival of a Play award. Anne Kauffman walked away with the award for Outstanding Director of a Play for her work on “The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window.”

In addition, this year’s special honorees included deBessonet, Tony winner André De Shields, the Drama Book Shop and J.P. Morgan Asset & Wealth Management chief communications officer Darin Oduyoye.

A full list of winners and nominees can be found below. Winners are notated in bold.

Outstanding Production of a Play
“the bandaged place”
“Cost of Living”
“Dark Disabled Stories”
“Fat Ham”
“Good Night, Oscar”
“Life of Pi”
“Peter Pan Goes Wrong”
“Prima Facie”
“Public Obscenities”
“Summer, 1976”

Outstanding Revival of a Play
“A Doll’s House”
“Ohio State Murders”
“The Piano Lesson”
“A Raisin in the Sun”
“The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window”
“The Thanksgiving Play”
“Wedding Band: A Love/Hate Story in Black and White”
“Wolf Play”

Outstanding Production of a Musical
“Some Like It Hot”
“& Juliet”
“A Beautiful Noise, The Neil Diamond Musical”
“Dreaming Zenzile”
“New York, New York”
“White Girl in Danger”
“Wise Children’s Wuthering Heights”

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
“Into the Woods”
“Bob Fosse’s Dancin’”
“A Man of No Importance”
“Sweeney Todd”

Outstanding Director of a Play
Anne Kauffman, “The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window”
Jo Bonney, “Cost of Living”
Shayok Misha Chowdhury, “Public Obscenities”
Kenny Leon, “Topdog/Underdog”
Jamie Lloyd, “A Doll’s House”
David Mendizábal, “the bandaged place”
Awoye Timpo, “Elyria,” and “Wedding Band: A Love/Hate Story in Black and
Dustin Wills, “Wolf Play”

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Lear DeBessonet, “Into the Woods”
Lileana Blain-Cruz, “Dreaming Zenzile,” and “White Girl in Danger”
Thomas Kail, “Sweeney Todd”
Casey Nicholaw, “Some Like It Hot”
Jack O’Brien, “Shucked”
Bartlett Sher, “Camelot”
Susan Stroman, “New York, New York”

Distinguished Performance Award
Annaleigh Ashford, “Sweeney Todd”
Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, “Topdog/Underdog”
Hiran Abeysekera, “Life of Pi”
Sara Bareilles, “Into the Woods”
Stephanie Berry, “the bandaged place”
Brittany Bradford, “Wedding Band: A Love/Hate Story in Black And White”
Danielle Brooks, “The Piano Lesson”
Rachel Brosnahan, “The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window”
Marylouise Burke, “Epiphany”
D’Arcy Carden, “The Thanksgiving Play”
Jessica Chastain, “A Doll’s House”
Sharon D. Clarke, “Death of a Salesman”
Jodie Comer, “Prima Facie”
Jordan E. Cooper, “Ain’t No Mo'”
Lorna Courtney, “& Juliet”
Micaela Diamond, “Parade”
Todd Freeman, “Downstate”
Harrison Ghee, “Some Like It Hot”
Josh Groban, “Sweeney Todd”
Ryan J. Haddad, “Dark Disabled Stories”
Corey Hawkins, “Topdog/Underdog”
Sean Hayes, “Good Night, Oscar”
Stephen McKinley Henderson, “Between Riverside and Crazy”
Oscar Isaac, “The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window”
Tarra Conner Jones, “White Girl in Danger”
Esco Jouléy, “Wolf Play”
Somi Kakoma, “Dreaming Zenzile”
David Krumholtz, “Leopoldstadt”
Linda Lavin, “You Will Get Sick”
Laura Linney, “Summer, 1976”
Jefferson Mays, “A Christmas Carol”
Patina Miller, “Into the Woods”
Marla Mindelle, “Titanique”
Arian Moayed, “A Doll's House”
Gargi Mukherjee, “Public Obscenities”
Alex Newell, “Shucked”
Jeremy Pope, “The Collaboration”
Colton Ryan, “New York, New York”
Phillipa Soo, “Camelot”
Marcel Spears, “Fat Ham”
Katy Sullivan, “Cost of Living”
Will Swenson, “A Beautiful Noise”
John Douglas Thompson, “Endgame”
Anna Uzele, “New York, New York”
John David Washington, “The Piano Lesson”
Betsy Wolfe, “& Juliet”
David Zayas, “Cost of Living”

Special Recognitions:

Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre
André De Shields

Founders Award for Excellence in Directing
Lear deBessonet

Contribution to the Theater
The Drama Book Shop

The Gratitude Award
Darin Oduyoye

The Drama League is managed under the leadership of artistic director Gabriel Stelian-Shanks and executive director Bevin Ross. The Drama League Awards event chair is Bonnie Comley. The steering committee is chaired by Townsend Teague and also includes Valerie Novakoff Britten, Donna Daniels, Jonathan Demar, Irene Gandy, Sarah Hutton, Kenneth Hyne, Una Jackman, Mary Jain, Paula Kaminsky Davis, Fred Siegel and Kumiko Yoshii.