Skip to content

2023-2024 Tonys nominating committee members announced

This Broadway season’s committee includes 25 new members.

Tony Award statuette (Credit: Courtesy of the Tony Awards)

The Tony Awards administration committee has announced the 2023-2024 Broadway season’s nominating committee. The 60-member group attends all productions during the Main Stem season and meets to determine Tony nominees by voting. Members serve a three-year term.

Newly announced members of the committee include Tony-nominated actor Bob Balaban, theater administrator Danielle Barlow, director Sarah Benson, Chicago Shakespeare Theater’s creative producer and Tony Award for Regional Theatre recipient Rick Boynton, actor and playwright Adam Chanler-Berat, two-time Tony-nominated actor and playwright Jordan E. Cooper, artist/writer Ty Defoe, music supervisor and conductor Andy Einhorn, actor/director/producer Dan Foster, director and choreographer Linda Goodrich, director Miranda Haymon, actor/director/playwright Christine Toy Johnson, two-time Tony-nominated lyricist and librettist Michael Korie, WP Theater’s producing artistic director Lisa McNulty, actor and production stage manager Ira Mont, actor and director Jacqueline Diane Moscou, two-time Tony-winning songwriter Benj Pasek, Tony-nominated composer and lyricist Helen Park, Classic Stage Company's producing artistic director Jill Rafson, David School of Drama/Yale Repertory Theatre’s associate dean/managing director Florie Seery, scenic designer Walt Spangler, actor Jason Tam, actor/playwright Cori Thomas, choreographer Patricia Wilcox and two-time Tony-nominated costume designer David C. Woolard.

They join past committee members including Tony-winning producer Warren Adams, actor Becky Ann Baker, two-time Tony-winning producer Pun Bandhu, two-time Tony-nominated producer Christopher Burney, Tony-nominated actor Kathleen Chalfant, composer/arranger/orchestrator/music director Carmel Dean, sound designer Jill BC Du Boff, actor and choreographer Dionne Figgins, the Apollo Theater’s executive producer Kamilah Forbes, lighting designer M L Geiger, Tony-winning book writer Michael R. Jackson, choreographer/director Raja Feather Kelly, sound designer John Kilgore, Symphony Space’s executive director Kathy Landau, costume designer Andrea Lauer, director Zhailon Levingston, Tony-nominated producer and National Black Theatre’s artistic director Jonathan McCrory, director Jess McLeod, four-time Tony-winning producer and former artistic director of New York Theatre Workshop James C. Nicola, playwright Antoinette Nwandu, scenic designer Neil Patel, playwright and artistic director of Ma-Yi Theater Company Ralph B. Peña, retired casting director Nancy Piccione, director and artistic director of the Ronald O. Perelman Performing Arts Center Bill Rauch, retired company manager Susan Sampliner, three-time Tony-nominated librettist and lyricist Dick Scanlan, Tony-winning librettist Rachel Sheinkin, costume designer Devario Simmons, Playwrights Horizons’ associate artistic director Natasha Sinha, Paper Mill Playhouse’s executive director Michael Stotts, theater advocate and national leader Reginald Van Lee, actor and playwright Michael Benjamin Washington, composer and lyricist Ben Wexler, actor/director/musician Whitney White and playwright Tracey Scott Wilson.

While a date for the 2024 Tony Awards has not yet been announced, several productions have already opened or begun previews.

The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.