Skip to content

"KPOP" to close on Dec. 11, final performance to include AAPI community talkback

'KPOP' will play its final performance on Dec. 11 (Photo by: Matthew Murphy).

"KPOP" will play its final performance on Dec. 11. The new musical, which officially opened on Nov. 27 at the Circle in the Square Theatre, will have played 44 previews and 17 regular performances at the time of closing.

The musical's final performance will include an Asian American and Pacific Islanders (AAPI) community event and panel discussion. The event will focus on AAPI representation on Broadway and beyond. Panelists include David Henry Hwang, the first Asian American playwright to win a Tony Award; "KPOP" composer-lyricist Helen Park, the first Asian female composer in Broadway history; playwright Hansol Jung and actor Pun Bandhu, who also co-founded the Tony-honored Asian American Performers Action Coalition (AAPAC).

"KPOP" will make 200 free tickets available to AAPI community members and youth for the performance.

The post-performance panel is supported by The Asian American Foundation in collaboration with Gold House, AAPAC and Ma-Yi Theater Company.

"KPOP" began previews on Oct. 13. The musical had been slated to open on Nov. 20, but, due to COVID-19 within the cast, postponed its official opening by one week. An original Broadway cast recording will be released in February.

Conceived by Jason Kim, the musical features a book by Kim with music and lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon with music arrangements by Park and music direction by Sujin Kim-Ramsey. "KPOP"is directed by Teddy Bergman and features choreography by Jennifer Weber, scenic design by Gabriel Hainer Evansohn, costume design by Clint Ramos and Sophia Choi, lighting design by Jiyoun Chang, sound design by Peter Fitzgerald and Andrew Keister, projection design by Peter Nigrini, hair and wig design by Mia M. Neal and makeup design by Joseph Dulude II and Suki Tsujimoto. Casting is by Tara Rubin Casting and the production stage manager is Cherie B. Tay.

The cast stars Luna, Julia Abueva, BoHyung, Major Curda, Jinwoo Jung, Jiho Kang, Amy Keum, James Kho, Marina Kondo, Eddy Lee, Joshua Lee, Jully Lee, Lina Rose Lee, Timothy H. Lee, Abraham Lim, Kate Mina Lin, Aubie Merrylees, Min, Patrick Park, Zachary Noah Piser, Kevin Woo and John Yi.

"KPOP" is produced on Broadway by Tim Forbes and Joey Parnes.